Benenden Health

95 reviews

4.07/5.00

Good

Leave a review
Please Login or Signup to leave feedback

Filter Reviews By Rating:

profile pic

Carter
6 years ago

2.00/5.00

"I am upset"

I am upset, after 37 years of paying into Beneden, I am allowed £1500 to pay for a cconsultation with a consultant for a maxilla facial problem (blocked saliva gland) which then resulted in the need for removal of said gland. Only to be told that I would have to revert back to the nhs for surgery as they did not cover maxilla facial ops, nor would they fund them. So the ad on tv which says they are there when need is not completely true. I am extremely disappointed and wonder whether it is worth continuing membership.


profile pic

Tristen
6 years ago

5.00/5.00

"Best of both worlds"

Used the Benenden Services a few times now. They took the worry out of the health issues I had and reassured me. Will never be without the healthcare cover. It's too valuable to lose no matter what the cost.


profile pic

Jan
6 years ago

5.00/5.00

"Benenden has helped both me and my"

Benenden has helped both me and my family... We have been members of benenden health since the 1990's and they have helped me and two of my family members, both at the benenden hospital in Kent and locally. I cannot fault the organisation and the care at benenden hospital was second to none. The extremely low contribution rates hardly cover the cost of the support received so it is well worth paying in and, if you are fortunate not to need medical attention, your contributions will support another member who is less fortunate with their health.


profile pic

Kaiya
6 years ago

5.00/5.00

"Member for approx 20 years."

I have been a member of Benenden for approx 20 years and I recommend the service. I consider it value for money.


profile pic

Kaitlynn
6 years ago

3.00/5.00

"BASIC SERVICE GOOD BUT TRAVEL INSURANCE NOT SO GOOD"

The fundamental service offered by Benenden, i.e. consultations and/or treatment when there is a delay in obtaining those on the NHS, is good and so I would recommend the main service. However, I would hesitate to recommend Benenden's travel insurance, as it took far too long for my claim to be handled and the compensation paid out.


profile pic

Madison
6 years ago

4.00/5.00

"Complicated, just maybe."

I have just recently contacted Benenden regarding getting an appointment for the first time. The process was relatively simple once I understood the rules. It's remembering these rules that make the process daunting. In my case I was getting a referral from my doctor and I had a verbal assurance that under no circumstances would I be seen by the NHS within three or even five weeks. Thinking this was the information Benenden required I rang to arrange an appointment through Benenden. Unfortunately I needed the precise wait list time and not just an assurance from my doctor. After numerous further visits to my doctor I got the information Benenden required. I now know the procedure but I have to say that for that first time I found it a bit complicated.


profile pic

Braedon
6 years ago

5.00/5.00

"exemplary service"

Had a hemorrhoidectomy at local private hospital. Surgeon even came to see me on his day off. Assigned own nurse. Excellent treatment. Everyone from initial contact was helpful and understanding.


profile pic

Andrea
6 years ago

1.00/5.00

"Having been a member of more than 20"

Having been a member of more than 20 years, and paying for all the family, I have received good support on a couple of occasions in the past. However the organisation is becoming much more profit centred than people centred and getting support for hospital checks seems nigh impossible now. I'm upset at having paid in for the last 10 years and got nothing out of it.. will cancel my membership and I'd recommend anyone reading this to go elsewhere.


profile pic

Alfredo
6 years ago

4.00/5.00

"Great affordable health care"

I've been a member for over 10 years, when I am encountered with long waiting times on the NHS Benenden have sorted me out..I also had recent surgery that the NHS were not coming forward well done Benenden... Great health care for an affordable price. I dropped one of the star because I had to consult my GP 3 x to get information on documents which had to sync with requirements for Benenden. A more easier system needed in that area.. Nevertheless it all was worth it in the end.


profile pic

Shaylee
6 years ago

5.00/5.00

"Recent referrals."

I have been told I would have to wait months for an appointment after a referral to a specialist by my doctor. I have used the service twice over the last months and it has been excellent. No problems and instant access to specialists.


premium badge
Premium Company

benenden.co.uk
- Asks their customers for reviews - whether positive or negative.

Benenden Health

We are Benenden Health We were founded in 1905 with the purpose of people joining together to help pay for medical care for when they might need it. This remains our core purpose today. We still exist for the sole benefit of our members and remain a not-for-profit society. The original mission was to help provide treatment for postal workers suffering from Tuberculosis (TB). Today, our mission is to help regular hard-working people avoid the worry and complications that waiting on the NHS can bring. Our only passion is to improve the quality of our members’ lives, as it always has been. Today we have over 800,000 members, tomorrow we aim for many more. Our vision is to be the UK’s leading healthcare community, making life better for all our members and wider society by taking the strain off the NHS. Why you may not have heard of Benenden Health before? If you’re wondering why you haven’t heard of Benenden Health before when we’ve over 800,000 UK members and have been going for 110 years - it’s because we only opened our doors to the general public since 2012. Prior to this membership was only available to civil servants and Post Office workers. This means you too can now take advantage of Benenden Health. And we’ve recently made some significant improvements so we’re shouting about our simple, smart, affordable healthcare alternative as part of a national advertising campaign so more people are aware of the benefits of membership.

Location

Holgate Park Drive, YO26 4GG York, United Kingdom